Honors Assembly Recognizes 2020-21 Achievements

Many Woodlands Academy students – and one of their teachers – were recognized for numerous achievements this school year during the Honors Assembly June 2, the 162nd annual distribution of awards.

Highlights included presentation of the 2020-21 Woodlands Award, the highest honor that can be attained at Woodlands. Based on the votes of faculty and students, this award recognizes outstanding service, leadership, character and scholastic development. This year’s recipient is Kayla Imanzi.

The Distinction in Studies Award was presented to Hanna Bryce for maintaining the highest scholastic average during her four years of high school. She is the Class of 2021 valedictorian.

The second-highest grade point average after four years of high school was achieved by Natalie Williams who is this year’s salutatorian.

The Frances de la Chapelle Excellence in Teaching Award, established in 1992 by the Lawrence Haggerty family to honor the former Woodlands Academy principal, acknowledges and promotes excellence in teaching. The winner of this award is chosen by a vote of the faculty and administration from among faculty members nominated by students. Science teacher Kristen Black is this year’s recipient.

The Janet Erskine Stuart Award, which is given to a senior boarding student who consistently fosters the building of community through her leadership, service and generosity, went to Zoe Nwarache. Janet Erskine Stuart, RSCJ, a strong leader both in Sacred Heart schools and the Religious of the Sacred Heart, was a woman of courage, conviction and faith and had a great love for children, nature, poetry, sports and creative writing.

Other honorees included:

2021 Global Scholars Hanna Bryce, Kayla Imanzi, Nora Quigley and Isabelle Ryan whose diplomas and transcripts will include the designation of “Global Scholar” in recognition of their successful completion of this Center for Global Studies program.

Elizabeth De Leon, recipient of the Woodlands Academy Service Award in recognition of her passion for service and dedication to the poor and marginalized of our society in the true spirit of Goal III.

Nora Quigley, recipient of the Peggy Haggerty Award in memory of the Class of 1971 alumna who modeled the Sacred Heart values of “courage and confidence” and “generosity and gratitude” leaving behind a rich legacy of strong leadership, service to others and good humor.

Kayla Imanzi, recipient of the American Legion Award, given by votes of the faculty and students for courage, character, leadership, honor and service to the community and country.

 Arianne Berner, Ruoqi Feng, Zoe Nwarache and Ruobing Zhang were recognized for having perfect attendance all four years at Woodlands Academy.                       

Congratulations to all our 2020-21 honorees!